Ctruth Transmission Studies

Literary works are written and later read by their audiences. Transmission studies focus on how the story got from its origin to its readers. This means focusing on where and when the text was created and how it reached its audience. This article is incomplete.

Advertisements
Advertisements

Historians

Greek

Hecataeus of Miletus (c.550 BC–c.476 BC): https://ctruth.today/2020/03/05/hecataeus-of-miletus/

Herodotus (c.480-c.429 BC): https://ctruth.today/2019/03/19/herodotus/

Thucydides (c.460-c.395 BC): https://ctruth.today/2019/04/08/who-is-thucydides/

Ctesias of Cnidus (second half of 5th c. BC): https://ctruth.today/2020/03/06/ctesias/

Xenophon (c.430-c.354 BC): https://ctruth.today/2019/04/09/who-is-xenophon/

Antiochus of Syracuse (fl.420BC): https://ctruth.today/2020/03/06/antiochus-of-syracuse/

Polybius (c.200-c.118 BC): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/05/polybius/

Strabo (64 BC-24 AD): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/05/strabo/

Dionysius of Halicarnassus (60-7 BC): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/05/dionysius-of-halicarnassus/

Diodorus Siculus (d. after 21 BC): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/05/diodorus-siculus/

Pausanias (c.110-c.180): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/17/pausanias/

Rome

Varro (116-27 B.C.): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/05/marcus-terentius-varro/

Julius Caesar (100-44 B.C.): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/05/julius-caesar/

Sallust (86-35 B.C.): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/05/sallust/

Livy (64/59 B.C.-A.D. 17): https://ctruth.today/2020/07/15/titus-livius-livy/

Seneca the Elder (c.55 B.C.-A.D. 39): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/05/seneca-the-elder/

Velleius Paterculus (fl.20s AD): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/14/velleius-paterculus/

Tacitus (c.55-117): https://ctruth.today/2019/05/04/tacitus-manuscripts/

Suetonius (c.69-after 122): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/05/suetonius/

Florus (c.70-c.140): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/05/lucius-annaeus-florus/

Pliny the Younger (b.61): https://ctruth.today/2019/12/02/pliny-the-younger-mss/

Pliny the Elder (d.79): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/05/pliny-the-elder/

Appian of Alexandria (c.95-c.165): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/14/appian-of-alexandria/

Dio Cassius (c. 150 -235 A.D.): https://ctruth.today/2020/01/08/writings-of-lucius-cassius-dio/

Herodian (C3rd): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/05/herodian/

Paulus Orosius (375-418): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/05/paulus-orosius/

Eutropius (C4th): https://ctruth.today/2020/08/05/eutropius/

Josephus

Antiquities: https://ctruth.today/2021/09/15/josephus-antiquities-mss-by-location/

Early References: https://ctruth.today/2020/05/28/early-references-to-josephus/

Jesus in Josephus: https://ctruth.today/2020/05/28/jesus-in-josephus/

Overview: https://ctruth.today/2019/04/06/titus-flavius-josephus/

Printed Editions: https://ctruth.today/2020/01/28/list-of-the-printed-editions-of-josephus/

Advertisements
Advertisements
Advertisements
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: