Biography of Francis Bacon

This article contains a concise biographical timeline for Francis Bacon (1561-1626). He is commonly credited with developing the scientific method. Today he is known as the Father of Empiricism.

~~~~~ ~~~~~ ~~~~~ ~~~~~

1561 – He is born in London.

1573-1576 – He lives at Trinity College.

1576 – He enters de societate magistrorum at Gray’s Inn.

1577-1579 – He visits Blois, Poitiers, Tours, Italy, and Spain.

1579 – He returns to England because his father died. He takes up residence in law at Gray’s Inn.

1581 – He gets elected a Member of Parliament (MP) for Bossiney, Cornwall.

1582 – He is admitted as an outer barrister.

1584 – He takes his seat in parliament for Melcombe in Dorset.

1586 – He takes his seat in parliament for Taunton. In Parliament, he urges for the execution of Mary, Queen of Scots. He also becomes a Master of the Bench.

1587 – He becomes a Reader.

1588 – He becomes MP for Liverpool.

1589 – He receives the appointment of reversion to the Clerkship of the Star Chamber.

1591 – He acts as Robert Devereux, 2nd Earl of Essex confidential adviser.

1592 – He writes Certain observations made upon a libel.

1593 – He becomes MP for Middlesex.

1597 – He is MP for Ipswich. He becomes to the first Queen’s Counsel designate. The 1st Edition of his Essays is published with 10 essays.

1601 – He is MP for Ipswich.

1603 – He is knighted.

1604 – He is MP for Ipswich.

1605 – He publishes The Advancement and Proficience of Learning Divine and Human.

1606 – He marries Alice Barnham.

1607 – He is awarded the office of solicitor general.

1608 – He formally begins work as the Clerkship in the Star Chamber.

1612 – The 2nd Edition of his Essays is published with 38 essays.

1613 – He becomes attorney general.

1614 – He becomes MP for Cambridge University.

1617 – He becomes temporary Regent of England for one month.

1618 – He becomes Lord Chancellor. He also becomes known as Francis, Lord Verulam.

1620 – He publishes Instauratio magna (The Great Instauration).

1621 – He becomes the 1st Viscount St Alban. He is also 23 charged with separate counts of corruption

1623 – He publishes De augmentis scientiarum.

1625 – The 3rd and final Edition of his Essays is published with 58 essays.

1626 – He publishes New Atlantis.

1626 – He dies of pneumonia just outside of northern London.

~~~~~ ~~~~~ ~~~~~ ~~~~~


[1] –

~~~~~ ~~~~~ ~~~~~ ~~~~~

Buy Ctruth t-shirts, hoodies, and more at:

~~~~~ ~~~~~ ~~~~~ ~~~~~

Gain access to exclusive Ctruth activities, benefits, and content @

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is a263a37f-6510-4454-b98f-41c166cdcfad.jpg

~~~~~ ~~~~~ ~~~~~ ~~~~~

Support Ctruth directly by donating @

~~~~~ ~~~~~ ~~~~~ ~~~~~

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: